The MSP concept

THE MARTINIQUE SURF PRO

The first Caribbean stage of the Qualifying Series (QS), the Martinique Surf Pro was created in 2015 by Nicolas Clemente and Nicolas Ursulet, two passionate surfers of high level aware of the assets of the Martinique coastline. Hailed from the very first edition by professionals, competitors and media for the quality of its organization and the excellent surfing conditions offered by the Basse-Pointe spot, the contest is renewed every year with increasing success. The MSP is organized under the auspices of the World Surf League (WSL) and is part of the Qualifying Series (QS) world qualifying circuit. Beyond the sporting aspect, the MSP is a multi-dimensional event that brings together arts, music, heritage and culture.

le martinique surf pro

A HIGHLY ANTICIPATED COMPETITION

The martinican rendezvous is regularly distinguished on the international circuit. It was thus elected “best competition of the last 5 years” in 2015 and, in 2017, “better quality of waves to a QS” in the first semester, according to the WSL. The long and powerful right of Basse-Pointe (North-East of Martinique) has definitely conquered surfers who can express themselves fully by linking a maximum of maneuvers. In addition to the professionalism of the organization and the surfing conditions, the warm welcome and enthusiasm of the island’s inhabitants are also highly appreciated by the participants.

competitionattendue

A RAISED SPORTS PLATEAU

Contest of high level, the MSP brings to each edition more than a hundred surfers of twenty different nationalities. Test QS 3,000 (step 3 of 5 possible in the circuit QS), the event has a certain importance: the 3000 points won by the winner can make the difference to enter the Championship Tour, the elite of the world surf… Frederico Morais, Yago Dora, Joan Duru, Willian Cardoso and Ian Gouveia, who evolve or have evolved in the Championship Tour, have gone through Martinique Surf Pro.

Thus, with its celebrities, the finest QS and young talents, the MSP sports platform is each time higher. The arrival of the women’s competition in 2018 will undoubtedly increase the challenge and the already growing interest in the contest. In the end, the MSP always offers very nice show.

 

The winners of the MSP :

2015 : Joshua Moniz (Hawaï)

2016 : Frederico Morais (Portugal)

2017 : Ricardo Christie (New Zealand)

plateausportif

A FESTIVE ATMOSPHERE

Total event, the MSP moves thousands of spectators each edition. Sports fans, tourists, curious families, schoolchildren and art lovers flock to follow the competition but also to enjoy the many events and the festive atmosphere of an event that gives pride of place to the culture and music. Concerts, performances, afters with DJs, fun workshops for children, craft village, air show competitions, exhibitions of local productions and showcases punctuate the whole week with highlights on the weekends. The martinican heritage is honored with bèlè shows and demonstrations of bwa flo (traditional “surf” of Martinique). The MSP always ends in apotheosis and music with the Surf Pro Night Party hosted by several renowned DJs, in a dream setting and a Caribbean and international atmosphere.

ambiancefestive

EXTRAORDINARY SPIN-OFFS

MEDIAS

Web, social networks, TV, radios, press, the images of the competition go around the world. In total, over the first three editions, more than 150 million people (cumulated) were affected! An unprecedented media exposure for the event but also for the Martinique area. The MSP is particularly present on the digital, on its website and those of its various partners (on average 900,000 pages viewed on the WSL website), on social networks. The Facebook page of the event now totals more than 32,000 fans.

retombeemediatique

ECONOMICS

The MSP generates significant spinoffs for the town, the north of the island, Martinique as a whole, before, during and after the event. Creator of jobs, Martinique Surf Pro solicits seasonal and more than 100 martinican companies every year. Nearly 300 sportsmen, accompaniers and journalists coming from abroad are accommodated in hotels and at the inhabitants in the cities of North Atlantic. Traders, farmers, restaurateurs and artisans benefit from the event. At the tourism level, the international media exposure offered by the MSP enhances the destination Martinique, its nautical potential, and enhances the attractiveness of the North. Moreover, more and more tourists make the trip specially to attend the competition.

In general, Martinique Surf Pro contributes to boosting the economic fabric of the North thanks to our partner the CCIM and its actions Do You Speak Tourist? and Qualité Tourisme. More than 50 companies in the North were involved in these training actions, which benefited more than 100 employees.

retombeeeconomique

SURFING IN MARTINIQUE’S DNA

Due to its island character and its location, Martinique is naturally a destination for sports and water sports. From North to South, the island offers many surf spots (and all its derivatives) for all levels of practice. The water is hot all year long and, good news, the spots are rather quiet. Little known and to be discovered during the MSP, there is a traditional Martinique surfing on the stormy coasts of Grand-Rivière and Basse-Pointe: the bwa flo. Initially practiced by the Amerindians who transmitted it to the slaves, it consists of riding the sea on a tree trunk. The bwa flo allowed the shipment of goods from boats to land.

bwaflo

WordPress Video Lightbox Plugin
sit adipiscing suscipit diam elit. nec in vel, ipsum amet, ut

Le concept MSP

LE MARTINIQUE SURF PRO

Première étape caribéenne des Qualifying Series (QS), le Martinique Surf Pro est créé en 2015 par Nicolas Clemente et Nicolas Ursulet, deux passionnés de surf de haut niveau conscients des atouts du littoral martiniquais. Salué dès la première édition par les professionnels, les compétiteurs et les médias pour la qualité de son organisation et les excellentes conditions de surf offertes par le spot de Basse-Pointe, le contest est reconduit chaque année avec un succès grandissant. Le MSP est organisé sous l’égide de la World Surf League (WSL, ligue internationale de surf) et fait partie du circuit qualificatif mondial des Qualifying Series (QS). Au-delà de l’aspect sportif, le MSP est un événement pluridimensionnel qui réunit les arts, la musique, la patrimoine et la culture.

le martinique surf pro

UNE COMPETITION TRES ATTENDUE

Le rendez-vous martiniquais se distingue régulièrement sur le circuit international. Il a ainsi été élu “meilleure compétition des 5 dernières années” en 2015 et, en 2017, ”meilleure qualité de vagues à un QS” au premier semestre, selon la WSL. La longue et puissante droite de Basse-Pointe (Nord-Est de la Martinique) a définitivement conquis les surfeurs qui peuvent s’y exprimer pleinement en enchainant un maximum de manoeuvres. Outre le professionnalisme de l’organisation et les conditions de surf, l’accueil chaleureux et l’enthousiasme des habitants de l’île sont aussi particulièrement appréciés des participants.

competitionattendue

UN PLATEAU SPORTIF RELEVÉ

Contest de haut niveau, le MSP réunit à chaque édition plus d’une centaine de surfeurs d’une vingtaine de nationalités différentes. Épreuve QS 3,000 (échelon 3 sur 5 possibles dans le circuit QS), l’événement a donc une importance certaine : les 3000 points raflés par le vainqueur peuvent faire la différence pour entrer dans le Championship Tour, l’élite du surf mondial… Frederico Morais, Yago Dora, Joan Duru, Willian Cardoso ou Ian Gouveia, qui évoluent ou ont évolué dans le CT, sont passés par le Martinique Surf Pro.

Ainsi, avec ses stars, la fine fleur des QS et les jeunes talents, le plateau sportif du MSP est chaque fois plus relevé. L’arrivée de la compétition féminine en 2018 augmentera assurément le challenge et l’intérêt déjà croissant pour le contest. Au final, le MSP offre toujours du très beau spectacle.

 

Les vainqueurs du MSP :

2015 : Joshua Moniz (Hawaï)

2016 : Frederico Morais (Portugal)

2017 : Ricardo Christie (Nouvelle-Zélande)

plateausportif

UNE AMBIANCE FESTIVE

Événement total, le MSP déplace des milliers de spectateurs à chaque édition. Fans de sport, touristes, curieux, familles, scolaires et amateurs d’arts se pressent pour suivre la compétition mais aussi pour profiter des nombreuses animations et de l’ambiance festive d’une manifestation qui fait la part belle à la culture et à la musique. Concerts, performances, afters avec DJ, ateliers ludiques pour les enfants, village artisanal, concours de “air show”, expositions de productions locales et showcases rythment toute la semaine avec des temps forts les week-ends. Le patrimoine martiniquais est mis à l’honneur avec des spectacles de bèlè et des démonstrations de bwa flo (“surf” traditionnel de Martinique). Le MSP se termine toujours en apothéose et en musique avec la Surf Pro Night Party animée par plusieurs DJ de renom, dans un cadre de rêve et une ambiance caribéenne et internationale.

ambiancefestive

DES RETOMBÉES EXCEPTIONNELLES

MÉDIATIQUES

Web, réseaux sociaux, TV, radios, presse, les images de la compétition font le tour du monde. Au cumul, sur les trois premières éditions, plus de 150 millions de personnes (cumulées) ont été touchées! Une exposition médiatique sans précédent pour l’événement mais aussi pour le territoire martiniquais. Le MSP est particulièrement présent sur le digital, sur son site internet et ceux de ses différents partenaires (en moyenne 900 000 pages vues sur le site de la WSL), sur les réseaux sociaux. La page Facebook de l’événement cumule aujourd’hui plus de 32 000 fans.

retombeemediatique

ÉCONOMIQUES

Le MSP génère des retombées importantes pour la commune, le Nord de l’île, la Martinique dans son ensemble, avant, pendant et après l’événement. Créateur d’emplois, le Martinique Surf Pro sollicite des saisonniers et plus de 100 entreprises martiniquaises chaque année. Près de 300 sportifs, accompagnateurs et journalistes venant de l’étranger sont hébergés dans les structures hôtelières et chez l’habitant dans les communes du Nord atlantique. Commerçants, agriculteurs, restaurateurs et artisans bénéficient de la fréquentation de l’événement. Au niveau du tourisme, l’exposition médiatique internationale qu’offre le MSP valorise la destination Martinique, son potentiel nautique, et renforce l’attractivité du Nord. D’ailleurs, de plus en plus de touristes font le déplacement spécialement pour assister à la compétition.

De façon générale, le Martinique Surf Pro participe à la dynamisation du tissu économique du Nord notamment grâce à notre partenaire la CCIM et ses actions Do you speak tourist? et Qualité tourisme. Plus de 50 entreprises du Nord ont été concernées par ces actions de formation qui ont bénéficié à plus de 100 salariés.

retombeeeconomique

LE SURF DANS L’ADN DES MARTINIQUAIS

De par son caractère insulaire et sa situation géographique, la Martinique est naturellement une destination de sports et plaisirs nautiques. Du Nord au Sud, l’île offre de nombreux spots de surf (et tous ses dérivés) pour tous les niveaux de pratique. L’eau est chaude toute l’année et, bonne nouvelle, les spots sont plutôt tranquilles. Peu connu et à découvrir lors du MSP, il existe un surf traditionnel martiniquais propre aux côtes houleuses de Grand-Rivière et de Basse-Pointe : le bwa flo. Pratiqué initialement par les Amérindiens qui l’ont transmis aux esclaves, il consiste à chevaucher la mer sur un tronc d’arbre. Le bwa flo permettait l’acheminement des marchandises des bateaux jusqu’à terre.

bwaflo

WordPress Video Lightbox Plugin
felis eleifend quis, fringilla leo suscipit venenatis, sem, dolor libero