Social actions

MARTINIQUE SURFING

Sports Association of the 1901 law (french), Martinique Surfing (MS) aims to develop and generalize the practice of surfing. MS offers courses for all levels, at both South and North of the island. Affiliated with the French Surf Federation, Martinique Surfing is a federal club with more than 100 members. MS organizes federal competitions and offers coaching of top level surfers.

The association also organizes free competitions, open days and puts in place social actions.

A SOCIETAL DIMENSION

Top-level sports competition, the Martinique Surf Pro is also a year-round commitment to the people of Martinique and young people. Through the Martinique Surfing and Caribbean Surf Project associations, the founders of the MSP are promoting the sport to as many people as possible, including those who are furthest away from this practice (social and / or economic reasons), with two Initiatives: School Surfing and Surfing Insertion. More than 500 young people benefit each year from these measures. Because surfing is more than just a sliding sport: it has a real societal dimension.

SURF INSERTION

Created in 2010, this program is inspired by the Brazilian concept Surf Favelas that fights against crime and social exclusion. The Martinique Surfing association has adapted it successfully to the martinican context. Surf Insertion is for people in great difficulty and has several objectives. It allows practitioners to regain confidence and self-esteem, to get out of their usual environment, to develop autonomy and sense of responsibility, to learn to live in groups and to respect instructions. Thanks to surfing, they find the taste of the effort, learn the values of respect, solidarity and humility. Surf Insertion also includes an environmental awareness component. Martinique Surfing supports young people in precarious situations. At the end of these teaching and discovery cycles, some of them decide to follow courses in the sea, sports or social professions.

SCHOOL SURFING

For the past two years, Caribbean Surf Project has been offering schools an introductory surfing course as part of the Physical Education and Sports courses. First and foremost, it will enable North Atlantic institutions located near the practice sites (Basse Pointe, Lorrain, Marigot, Sainte Marie, Trinité) to enhance their coastline while enriching their educational offer. The middle school students develop their self-confidence and their capacity for autonomy in this shifting and uncertain aquatic environment. The practice of surfing helps them to integrate the values of respect and surpassing oneself. The School Surf activity is very popular with middle school students, their parents and teachers.

WordPress Video Lightbox Plugin
in elit. consectetur Donec tristique sed libero odio quis, leo

Actions sociales

MARTINIQUE SURFING

Association sportive loi 1901, Martinique Surfing (MS) a pour but le développement et la démocratisation de la pratique du surf. MS propose des cours pour tous les niveaux, aussi bien au Sud qu’au Nord de l’île. Affiliée à la Fédération française de surf, Martinique Surfing est un club fédéral qui compte plus de 100 licenciés. MS organise des compétitions fédérales et propose du coaching de surfeurs de haut niveau.

L’association organise aussi des compétitions libres, des journées portes ouvertes et met en place des actions sociales.

UNE DIMENSION SOCIETALE

Compétition sportive de haut niveau, le Martinique Surf Pro c’est aussi un engagement toute l’année auprès de la population martiniquaise et des jeunes. À travers les associations Martinique Surfing et Caraïbes Surf Project, les fondateurs du MSP s’attachent à promouvoir ce sport auprès du plus grand nombre, y compris auprès des publics les plus éloignés de cette pratique (raisons sociales et/ou économiques), avec deux initiatives : Surf Scolaire et Surf Insertion. Plus de 500 jeunes bénéficient chaque année de ces dispositifs. Car le surf est bien plus qu’un sport de glisse : il possède une véritable dimension sociétale.

SURF INSERTION

Créé en 2010, ce programme est inspiré du concept brésilien Surf Favelas qui lutte contre la criminalité et l’exclusion sociale. L’association Martinique Surfing l’a adapté avec succès au contexte martiniquais. Surf Insertion s’adresse aux personnes en grande difficulté et a plusieurs objectifs. Il permet aux pratiquants de retrouver confiance et estime de soi, de sortir de leur milieu habituel, de développer autonomie et sens des responsabilités, d’apprendre à vivre en groupe et à respecter des consignes. Grâce au surf, ils retrouvent le goût de l’effort, apprennent les valeurs de respect, solidarité et humilité. Surf Insertion comporte aussi un volet de sensibilisation aux questions environnementales. Martinique Surfing accompagne donc les jeunes en situation de précarité. À l’issue de ces cycles d’enseignement et de découverte, certains d’entre eux décident de suivre les cursus des métiers de la mer, du sport ou du social.

SURF SCOLAIRE

Depuis deux ans, Caraïbe Surf Project propose aux établissements scolaires un cycle d’initiation au surf dans le cadre des cours d’Éducation physique et sportive. Il s’agit en premier lieu de permettre aux établissements du Nord-Atlantique situés à proximité des lieux de pratiques (Basse Pointe, Lorrain, Marigot, Sainte Marie, Trinité) de valoriser leur littoral tout en enrichissant leur offre pédagogique. Les collégiens développent leur confiance en eux et leurs capacités d’autonomie dans ce milieu aquatique mouvant et incertain. La pratique du surf les aide à intégrer les valeurs de respect et de dépassement de soi. L’activité Surf Scolaire est très appréciée des collégiens, de leurs parents et des enseignants.

WordPress Video Lightbox Plugin
vel, libero. sem, luctus facilisis justo